Cold weather starts

Berry

Equipment
B7200HST B2551 Blower Scraper Flail Mower Chipper Log Splitter
Jun 7, 2020
Bancroft Ontario
I'm fairly new to diesel engines so starting in the -20 c is a little tough with my B7200. I use my glo plugs for a 60 count, decompression for a five count and it usually starts. My question is how long can you safely leave the key on engaging the starter.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
If you have to hold the key longer than 10 seconds - I would check the condition of the glow plugs and or compression of the engine itself..

A 60 second glow - should be a plenty to heat the cylinder head area - but if they are not working, or one of them is not working, it screws the pooch and will make starting cold a real PITA.

Simple to check for glow plugs - unhook top lead - use OHM meter set to lowest setting and place one lead on top of plug and one on good ground (make sure to take wire off to test) - reading should be very close to zero - ONE is a excellent number.

Berry

Equipment
Jun 7, 2020
Bancroft Ontario
If you have to hold the key longer than 10 seconds - I would check the condition of the glow plugs and or compression of the engine itself..

A 60 second glow - should be a plenty to heat the cylinder head area - but if they are not working, or one of them is not working, it screws the pooch and will make starting cold a real PITA.

Simple to check for glow plugs - unhook top lead - use OHM meter set to lowest setting and place one lead on top of plug and one on good ground (make sure to take wire off to test) - reading should be very close to zero - ONE is a excellent number.