BX2822 fan shear bolt breaks repeatedly under load

jsteinhauer

Equipment
BX2380
Feb 27, 2023
Minnesota
I've been snowblowing with a BX2822 on a BX2380 for several years, and Saturday I broke the fan shear bolt for the first time on what looked like clean fluffy snow. Replaced it today, twice now. Purchased the bolts from the dealer. As the snow piles up a bit in front of the fan between the augurs, I hear a clunking sound and the bolt breaks. If I back off quickly, the clunk will not recur and it won't break, and if I proceed very, very slowly it won't, either. It will run normally with no load. Visually, nothing looks wrong or bent and nothing feels loose. I have seen something similar reported elsewhere with a different blower, but no solution. The snow today is pretty heavy and wet, but not very deep, and it's not even close to the most extreme I have cleared before. Any suggestions?

animals45

Equipment
L3301l
Apr 22, 2021
Mabie CA
You have to keep ice out of the unit . Even though I let my machine idle with the pto engaged for @ 5 minutes when I'm done blowing snow I still have to check to make sure nothing is frozen before I use it each time . This AM it was frozen when I went to use it . Quickest way to pop a shear pin is not checking to make sure it's free to run . I use a pipe wrench to make sure that teh augars will do a full rotation before starting & engaging the machine . The clunk clunk could be ice or something in the way of either of the augars . Make sure everything is clear before engaging PTO .
animals45

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
sigh, another need to be there to SEE and hear, what's happening...
it is a mystery...seasoned pro on known machinery, light fluffy snow... shouldn't be 'ice' problem....
mechanically everything is good... quiet,runs fine until you 'press' into the snow THEN clunk,clunk, break...