Bio Diesel fuel maintenance factors

Norman

Equipment
LX2610HSD;LA535;LP 60" grapple; WC68 chipper; GB60 SW cutter
Sep 30, 2021
Georgia, USA
Tried a search already, hope I didn't miss anything yet so here goes...

U.S. based....was at the pump the other day and saw a decal on the diesel pump that said "may contain up to 5% bio". After going through my manual for the LX2610 it appears that using bio is okay with certain conditions, and 5% appears to be a very low amount.

I just wanted to confirm my findings since I'm new to tractors and especially diesel fuel use and don't want to void any warranties. For my situation of possibly 5% bio there is no change to the fuel and oil filter changes, it seems to only change when 6% and above. Also, for long term storage with up to 5% bio, the tank should be drained if stored longer than 3 months and the machine run with light mineral oil diesel to purge the lines.

Lastly, FWIW, the bio decal was on "road" diesel", I haven't seen the decal on the "offroad" diesel pump nearest to my home. In case you're wondering, the offroad diesel location isn't exactly what I'd call a choice location, so I might need to use on road diesel from a reputable fueling station instead.

Thanks.

sheepfarmer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, B2650, Gator, Ingersoll mower
Nov 14, 2014
MidMichigan
You might want to always add an "algae inhibitor" to your tank every time you fill it.

RalphVa

Jan 19, 2020
Charlottesville
Bio will clean crud out the fuel tank. That crud can plug fuel filters. One time I ever had a plugged fuel filter on the Benz 240D was after about 3 tankfuls of the part bio fuel. This was over 25 years and 215k miles.

Reactions: 1 user

JustLuckey

Equipment
L2501DT
Feb 26, 2022
Georgia
Tried a search already, hope I didn't miss anything yet so here goes...