Bent mower deck

Droppinloads

Equipment
BX2380, FEL, 60" MMM, 48" box blade
Apr 10, 2018
Vermont
Hi all-

I searched around a good bit for answers on this but I'm looking for something a little more definitive. I hit a stump or something & it bent my MMM. It bent it so much so that the blade started buzzing the bent part of the steel.

My initial plan was to take an angle grinder & just grind off some of the bent spot & leave it so the blade stops making contact. Then i thought it might be best to try to straighten it. Will heating it with a propane torch & hammering it straight work? I have no experience heating/bending metal. I do have a small propane torch. Not sure if propane will get the metal hot enough. I tried hammering it back but there's not a lot of room there to work so the hammer alone isn't making a dent (pun intended!).

Appreciate any suggestions.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

dirtydeed

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B2650 BH77, U27-4R2, BX23TLBM, box blade, rear blade, flail mower, Stump Grinder
Dec 8, 2017
Wind Gap, PA
slip an adjustable wrench over the lip and pry it back into place. Use a pipe over the end of the wrench if more leverage is needed. There shouldn't be any need to heat it.

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
I understand your issue to be with the blade making contact with the underside of the deck.

Hammering without heating is the "fix." Usually done with the deck off and positioned so that the area around where you want to bend is supported so the bent area can move b ut the surrounding areas are fixed.

Use a serious hammer (ball pein hammer) not a carpenters hammer as I see on too many youtube videos.

The bent back flange is nothing to worry about.