B5100E TURBO

fluxcapacitor

Equipment
B5100E
Aug 30, 2019
Austin, TX
I bought this tractor locally for $600 and then spent ~$400 turbo'ing it. The previous owner welded a piece of train rail as the front bumper which I think is pretty cool.

I don't know what the power level is with the turbo. It's 12hp stock. I have not "turned up" the fuel or anything like that.

Goals are to be able to have a reliable work horse tractor that can maybe pull/do a little more than stock.

Turbo is a RHB31 from a Yanmar marine diesel generator (I believe). You can definitely tell the turbo was used in a marine application.

In any case, I just got it running last weekend. I'm still a noob with tractors, but not new to tastefully modifying my vehicles.

If anyone has any questions please let me know. I still intend to put the stock muffler/stack back on once I make an adapter for the turbine outlet flange.

C381167C-3885-4C4A-A159-3FFAA8C09D6E.jpeg

284637C0-A720-42AD-8038-DD28854F7A5B.jpeg

Lil Foot

Lifetime Member

Equipment
1979 B7100DT Gear, Nissan Hanix N150-2 Excavator
May 19, 2011
Peoria, AZ
How about pics of the turbo/plumbing/exhaust?

fluxcapacitor

Equipment
B5100E
Aug 30, 2019
Austin, TX
Here's the oil drain fitting I added from HDR (home depot racing).

There isn't much to the exhaust. The 2nd picture shows it. I made the manifold/collector out of steel plumbing fittings that I removed the galvanization off of. They still need a tack weld to hold it in position but it's sturdy enough where it is just on the threads.... and it doesn't leak exhaust.

The turbo is in the 2nd picture. I will take some more closeups of how things went together when I go back out to where the tractor is in a day or two.