B3200 Question???

jericbarg

Nov 11, 2009
Dothan
Newbie here.
I just purchased(this week) a new B3200HSD w/Fel and box blade. The FEL works great, the issue is the box blade.
While dragging in low gear at 2000 rpms, if I try to raise the box blade (slowly)just a touch the pump whines extremely loud. But, if I try to raise it (fast) all the way it comes right up with zero noise.
Am I turning to many RPMs?
Should I be in M ???

Thanks

Ob1kubota

Equipment
M9540DT
Jul 26, 2009
Birmingham, AL
jeri congratulations!!!!!! I want one of these for myself before I retire.;) What you are hearing on a slow lift is normal for an open center hydraulic system with variable HST and fixed displacement pumps. When you feather the controls at 2000 rpm it causes a high pressure low GPM flow relationship in the piston pump of the HST, thus you hear a whine because the pistons aren't traveling very far down in the barrel with all that rpm (pressure) its the GPM that does the work (quick lift ) and the pressure acts like potenial energy held back by only your silght actuation of the valve directed flow. You don't have any worries but I would keep the RPM below 1800 during the first 50 hours and this is just me and my belief in run in hours per Kubota recommendation. :)

jericbarg

Nov 11, 2009
Dothan
Many thanks!!!!!

Another question.
I have dual brake pedals above the HST forward pedal. How do you use these...if I let off the forward pedal to apply the brake, the tractor stops before I apply the brake.

I know on gear tractors how this works but on HST?????
Turning assist with brake pedal would be useful.

Maybe heel toe driving???

Thanks again.

Ob1kubota

Equipment
M9540DT
Jul 26, 2009
Birmingham, AL
You got it :D same as a GST just use your left foot on forward or reverse and right foot on brake(s) or vice veras. It you want sharp directional turns lift the tie bar between left and right brakes and press only that side. Your operators manual will explain it better than me. :p