B2150 HST no drive power

Dilly

Equipment
B2150 HST
May 13, 2021
Port Wing WI
Hello everyone,

This is my first tractor and I know very little about them at this point. I am a halfway competent hobbyist auto mechanic, but I know only what you can learn in a day about tractors and hydraulic systems. The tractor has 1600 hours on it and appears to be very well maintained. PO just completed a clutch job, but claims to know nothing about the problem that I am now experiencing.

The Problem:
The tractor can barley get out of its own way. Only drivable in low range (with throttle pegged), med, you can baby it on flat ground to get it going, high, not going to budge. FEL has tons of power, 3 point and PTOs work fine too. In low, I can sometimes just barley get the tires to spin in the mud, but if there is traction and resistance is met, I get some whine and then power just disappears. With my instinct and limited knowledge, I am worried the HST drive pump (??? thingy with the two pumps, swash plates, pistons, etc) is toast. Hopefully it is something much more simple and cheaper to fix. Other thoughts were high pressure relieve valve opening too soon, or speed control pedal/neutral holder out of whack because the pedal feels sloppy and doesn't like to return to neutral, but what do I know. Looking forward to reading your thoughts and advice, thanks in advance.

Attachments

Henro

Equipment
B2910, BX2200, KX41-2V mini Ex.
May 24, 2019
North of Pittsburgh PA
Can't help really, but is there a chance the clutch is the issue? With my B2910, if I would push the clutch in, the tractor will not move, I THINK! But I never checked this.

But since the clutch has an interlock that prevents starting if the clutch pedal is not depressed, I assume that is the case.

Who did the clutch job? Could the mechanism be out of adjustment? Any free play in the clutch linkage?

Just a couple thoughts until someone with more knowledge appears...

Dilly

Equipment
B2150 HST
May 13, 2021