B1500 not starting

Bunky

Equipment
Kubota B1500
May 31, 2023
UK
Only had this "vintage" B1500 a couple of days. It was running fine, my nephew stalled it and it wouldn't start again.

The battery was dead, so I've now replaced that. Filled up the fuel (it was low but not empty). But it just turns over now without firing.

I'm very new to the world of tractors so I'm hoping the answer to this is either "you need to flick this little switch..." or "nope, that's a job for a mechanic"

video of me trying to start it below. Any help greatly appreciate. TIA

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Are you glowing the plugs BEFORE starting?

I am not sure - but turn that key to the left and hold for 15 seconds and see if that makes any difference

Russell King

Equipment
L185F, Modern Ag Competitor 4’ shredder, Rhino tiller, rear dirt scoop
Jun 17, 2012
Austin, Texas
Define stalled better…
If it was running fine and died from some overload like letting the clutch out too fast in too high of a gear that is one track to follow.

If it was running fine and moving and slowly died then that would indicate a problem with the fuel supply. You can start with seeing how much fuel is getting to the fuel filter or fuel injection pump or you can start bleeding air out of the system. I would suggest starting with investigating the fuel flow first and then bleeding it out if you have good fuel flow.

Bunky

Equipment
Kubota B1500
May 31, 2023
UK
Are you glowing the plugs BEFORE starting?

I am not sure - but turn that key to the left and hold for 15 seconds and see if that makes any difference
Thanks. Yes, that was my third of fourth attempt. I'd glowed for a good while just before that video.

Bunky

Equipment
Kubota B1500
May 31, 2023
UK
Define stalled better…