Advice on purchasing a flail mower and land plane for B2601

Andy L

Equipment
B2601
Feb 19, 2021
Gig Harbor, WA
I'm new to tractors and am about to purchase a B2601. I need a flail mower and land plane and am a little overwhelmed with all the choices. I have 1.5 acres of grass to mow and also small areas of light brush to mow on occasion. I'm considering the Betstco 48" medium duty flail mower - FH-EFG125. With the small acreage, I probably don't need the top of the mower. The price has gone up a lot on the Betstco, and there are other options out there. I'll pay more if it's worth it. Next, I have a 220' driveway, about 11-12' wide. Do I need a 60" model, or will smaller work for me? Any suggestions on different makers or models? I want one with scarifiers shanks to smooth the potholes. I also want to grade it with a crown for drainage. Any advice from experience folks is appreciated.

jimh406

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L2501 with R4 tires
Jan 29, 2021
Western MT
I have a 72 inch Land Plane Grader/Scraper for my L2501. They are awesome. They can easily put a crown on a gravel road. My dealer preadjusted mine for that purpose. Do regularly check the blade tightness. If you are concerned with having enough power, buy a smaller one, but remember that there is no down force for the 3 pt other than the weight of the attachment.

Grader/scrapers push material toward the center. I think a 60 inch will be slightly short, so I don’t see any disadvantage of going 48 inch other than weight. You’ll still go down and back two times either way.

I suggest only putting the scarifiers down where the potholes are and then raise them back up. They are easily adjustable.