Advice on L3560 (cab, HST)

jp_over

Apr 4, 2021
East TX
Friends,

I'm new to tractors and have some work to do on our 16 acre hobby farm. As such, I'd like to see what I'm missing and should consider before purchasing. I'd hate to have to buy another tractor based on making some bad assumptions.

Here's what I need to accomplish (by priority):

Routine / Reoccurring
1. Mowing fence line (3/4 mile 6 strand)
2. Clearing downed trees / forestry management
3. Maintain driveway

One time / Infrequent
1. Filling / leveling ruts
2. Mowing / maintaining / cleaning up areas of heavy weeds / briars
3. Clearing stumps (likely will rent/hire out stump grinder)

Land features: Relatively flat, sandy loam with some clay, lots of trees, select cut 5-7 years ago (a number of stumps).

Current plan is to get an L3560 (cab) with:
1) loader (possibly 4 in 1)
2) heavy duty brush mower
3) pallet forks
4) box blade with rippers

I'd like to keep the weight and size down so I can get around the trees and fence easily as well as not make more ruts while I'm cleaning up old logging ruts.

Here's what I'm coming up with on the Kubota website. I think an L3901 could definitely do all I need but I like the idea of a cab and using this into my 50s and 60s is part of the planning.

Thanks for any advice or tips.

1626010574456.png

* Box blade and rotary cutter to be selected at dealership.

Last edited:

PaulL

Equipment
B2601
Jul 17, 2017
NZ
Looks like you've thought it through well. Grand L is a good size machine for 16 acres. You could go to an MX but I don't see any need to.

No rotary cutter or box blade listed in the implement list - you may get a discount buying them at the same time, or be able to include them in any financing deal.

I'd look seriously at a grapple rather than a 4 in 1 bucket. It's probably not that much more money, but much less of a compromise. You've got the 3rd function in your build anyway for the 4 in 1 bucket. I'd keep the pallet forks as well.