2007 L3400 Fuel Pump Issue?

AustinPower

Equipment
2007 L3400, 2020 RTV-X1140
Sep 13, 2020
Austin, Tx.
Hi there, newbie here.
A few weeks ago my 2007 L3400 (400+ hours) started to shut off after doing some work. Came back a day later, bled the system, seemed to work for a few minutes then started to shut off. Noticed the fuel filter housing had a small crack, so I replaced the fuel filter and fuel filter housing. Note: fuel runs out of the tank just fine, so no clogging issue. Tractor worked for about 10 minutes, then it started to shut off again. It seems to work ok when it's a little colder. I'm in Austin, Tx., so gelling is not an issue. It's 107 out here!
See attached video.
Is this as simple as a fuel pump replacement?
You can hear a difinite click of a switch, but not sure if that has anything to do with it.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

rentthis

Lifetime Member
May 30, 2012
summerville,sc
One quick thing to check is your fuel cap. Open the cap and see if it continues to run. The caps vent sometimes get clogged and a vacuum will build inside the tank and cause fuel starvation. Probably not you problem but worth trying.

Reactions: 1 user

AustinPower

Equipment
Sep 13, 2020
Austin, Tx.
I'll try that when I go back out there Rentthis. It's worth a shot as it gets pretty dusty out there. Thanks.

rentthis

Lifetime Member
May 30, 2012
summerville,sc
I'll try that when I go back out there Rentthis. It's worth a shot as it gets pretty dusty out there. Thanks.
If that isn't the problem, check the switch under the seat. Sometimes they get out of adjustment and will shut off because you don't weigh enough to keep it down. I don't have that problem. With 400 hours, I wouldn't suspect a fuel pump problem.

Sammy3700

Equipment
L3800HST,524Loader,BH77,Landplane,Disk,Mowers and more
Feb 20, 2012
Red Springs, NC
I second the seat switch or operator present switch under the left side of the seat

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012