1st Post - Tilt Steering issue

16trees

Equipment
LX 2610
Oct 8, 2020
Tazewell, TN
Greetings! I recently purchased a new LX2610 (open station). I have a small issue that I have tried searching for others on google and I didn't really find any, but it did lead me to this forum! Using the forums search yielded nothing useful so here I am, making my first post to see if anyone has any advice or can point me to a thread that has the answer.

I have the tilt steering feature, with the pedal release the wheel at my left foot next to the breaks. I step on the pedal and I adjust the wheel, let off the pedal and the wheel locks into the new position, as expected. The problem comes when I'm operating and randomly the wheel just pops back to the top position, almost like I have hit the pedal to release it. The first time I thought, maybe my size 13 snuck over and hit it since I'm still new to the tractor. It kept happening randomly and I realized I wasn't hitting it. I couldn't duplicate the problem no matter what I did, bumping the pedal with my boot, shaking the wheel, etc. It just seemed random. It's become very annoying. The dealership didn't have any over the phone suggestions like I'd hoped, but they offered to come get it and fix it. I was really hoping that it would be one of those, "oh, yeah, that happens, its 'insert easy fix here'".

Anyway, thanks for the help in advance!

Matt Ellerbee

Lifetime Member

Equipment
MX6000
Jun 27, 2019
Canton, Georgia
Had the exact same thing happen on mine and thought exactly what you did, I was hitting it. Asked dealer about it, never heard of anything like that... I ended up putting a double spring I found at work in there, seems to work well.

You have to pull the dash up and remove a panel to access it, but it was pretty simple.

Reactions: 1 user

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL