Introduction B7100 owner

Weimar

May 11, 2020
N of Spokane, WA, USA
hello, bought my first tractor (don't consider the lawn tractors as the same, although I have started using mine a lot just to run down to drop off the 'days hay' for the 2 horses.

Ran my Kubota B7100 OUT of diesel - sn says its from late in 1979 - so when I graduated from high school.
Reason I ran it out was that it is 'stuck' in 4x4 - so I watched Youtubes - and the tricks I saw, slightly revving - putting front loader down, taking pressure off of front wheels - nothing worked and as I ran it, it went empty.

So, thoughts on what I should do for the 4x4 - I want it in 4x2 right now.
Tricks, tips, what lever am I missing besides the obvious 4x4 / 4x2 that is marked for me by the seller.

Front end is very wonky driving in 4x4 and realize I will need to address that.

Ed

Attachments

Last edited:

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Lift the rear blade on the 3 pt hitch and then put down pressure on the loader arms, next curl the bucket forward and see if the front tires will leave the ground. Having weight on the rear of the tractor lessens the weight on the front of the tractor and makes it more likely you can lift the front wheels.

The curling forward of the bucket can generate more down pressure than the lift arms can so again increases the chance you can lift the front wheels.

It can take more than just reducing the weight on the front tires to get out of 4WD. Having one or both tires in the air will remove any internal pressure in the gears

Having the correct tires on front and rear is important as the rolling circumference of the front and rear tires is designed to be a specific ratio in the design of the transmission.

If someone has messed with tires sizes you can end up with a lot of pressure building up in the gear train and this pressure keeps things locked together in 4WD.

Dave

Weimar

May 11, 2020