Strongest pulling configuration

Kevin1

Equipment
Husqvarna MZT 52, BX2380,FEL, Box blade, Landscape Rake
Dec 15, 2017
New Bern, N.C.
Working on this stump. I have been patiently chipping away at this. Just curios what others have experienced for this type of situation. This is besides the obvious, like get a bigger tractor.

Attachments

quazz

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3800 and Z411
Jan 6, 2014
Rockley, NS
I am no expert but I would keep just chipping away at it. You are asking a lot from your equipment. Even a small stump is a lot and that is a big one. I don't think you are going to get it out until it is in smaller chunks.

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL
Some more pictures sure would help us to help you. And what is your goal? I would be mighty careful about pulling on the front end loader. Even turning the tractor around would give you more traction with the tires. Also you should be getting some rain in the next couple of days. Let the rain wash more of the dirt off. It will make a big difference.

Also on you tube there is a video of a man using a rope and pulleys to move stumps with a very small tractor. Look up Tom Hoffman videos.

Last edited:

Kevin1

Equipment
Dec 15, 2017
New Bern, N.C.
I have been taking it very slowly. I use a hand pick to chip away the dirt and cut roots as i progress. The bucket has a piranha bar and I use that to scrape away dirt and small roots. You think the chain hooked to a trailer hitch would be a better way to go?

BigG

Equipment
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL
I have been taking it very slowly. I use a hand pick to chip away the dirt and cut roots as i progress. The bucket has a piranha bar and I use that to scrape away dirt and small roots. You think the chain hooked to a trailer hitch would be a better way to go?