Home-built articulated tractor build.

roygage

Equipment
M7040, M5040, DT 3000
Jun 15, 2015
estherville iowa
Although not a true Kubota our little articulated tractor is based off a 520 Kubota my Father had. Dad had a sales sheet which had all the specs. on it, bucket height, turning angles, wheel base ect. Using those specs for a guide this is what we came up with.

The back is a little longer then I would like but as a mechanic I like to have room to work and could not stand the thought of pushing the motor up tight into the cab. As it is we have good clearance to work on the front of the engine.

Another comprise was the cab, would have preferred to have the front of the cab slope back at 10 to 12 degrees and the back be straight. As it was we had to push the front of the cab as far forward as possible. On the back of the cab the back wall comes up straight for 18 inches or so then angles back at about 14 degrees. Going up straight allowed us for room to work on the engine, tapering it back allowed some room while in the seat so our head isn't banging into the back window. Not the look I wanted but as they say, "form follows function,always."

This has been a long build, about 15 years. Sat for some time until my grandson showed interest and got me fired back up. Now to see where the weak links are. One is I suspect the front pivot which uses a front spindle of a C50 Chevy truck is going to be weak. Also curious to see how our 60 chain holds up. Little automatic trans-axle, a TH 125 GM, 90 Lumina, is light but as it is close to the motor hoping it will hold up.

Glass should be going in this weekend, storm on its way. Time will tell.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BLJ6wLCiDo

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL
That grandson has a great grandpa! Very nice and I sure you both learned a lot and made some great memories. Well done.

roygage

Equipment
M7040, M5040, DT 3000