Stupid Tractor Newbie question about snow depth

muttbarker

Equipment
Kubota L4060 HST, Snowblower, FEL, Rear Blade, 60" Grapple, 6' Bush Hog, Forks
Jan 24, 2022
Oakley, Utah
Hello - brand new to this website, brand new to owning a tractor and pretty darned new to living in snow. I bought a Kubota L4060 HSTC with a 74" snowblower to clear my property (ordered months ago). It did not show up until late December by which time I had a nice 3' foot blanket of snow over the property. It is pretty much frozen solid rendering the blower next to useless and the rear blade I ordered is still on on backorder. Sorry for the long intro - BUT! my question is how capable is the tractor in moving over and through deep snow. Is running through a 3 foot base an issue?

Second question in case anyone is feeling really helpful - I am assuming that until I have a rear blade to push / breakup the snow there is not much I can do with my blower, correct?

Thank you for your help. I am a long time resident of Southern California who moved to Utah, bought thirty acres and and it's all new to me.

Kevin

Reactions: 1 user

jimh406

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L2501 with R4 tires
Jan 29, 2021
Western MT
3 ft of snow is quite a bit. Some questions. Do you have chains? Do you have a backup plan if you get stuck as in a 4x4 with some type of winch/chain to pull you back out? Do you have rear ballast and/or loaded tires? If you break through the top to soft snow, you may be fine. If you break through and land on ice, you'll have a lot of work to get unstuck.

If you have rear ballast and chains, I'd consider putting the bucket back on and moving some of the snow with it. Otherwise, you might have success taking a little bit of the snow off the top at a time going easy.

Reactions: 2 users

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada