New L5240 Starting Rough

AJNF

Equipment
L5240
Jun 22, 2011
Colorado Springs
Hi,

I am new to OTT as well as a first time Kubota owner. I sold my JD and went orange last month and so far I am very happy. There is one issue I am concerned about and I would like some input from the members.

When I start the tractor it idles very rough and blows a lot of white smoke. I had the service tech back out to have a look at it and he said that was normal. At the same time he also noticed the coolant was low and topped it off. He said the coolant was low due to the addition of the block heater and there may have been a bubble in the system. I have owned several diesels (both tractors and trucks) and I know white smoke is never a good thing when it comes to diesels.

I took a video of the tractor starting so you can get a better idea of what I am talking about. I was about 65 degrees out and the tractor had sat all night. Here is the link http://youtu.be/W4X3dJ8QvOQ or you can click here

Thanks for your help.

Hook

Equipment
L3240 with LA514 FEL, Box Blade, Howard Rotovator, All Purpose Plow, Sub Soiler
Jul 6, 2010
Jackson, Georgia
Seems that I recall some threads about new Kubotas smoking and running rough due to injector timing issues. Also are you using the glow plug before starting? The low coolant could be a hint also but I would not think so since your tractor is new.

Last edited:

AJNF

Equipment
L5240
Jun 22, 2011
Colorado Springs
Hi Hook,

Thanks for the feedback.

I always wait until the glow-plug light goes out before starting. I have even tried cycling the key several time is assure the plugs are at max hot.

I will do a search on injection timing and see if I can find anything.

Hook

Equipment
L3240 with LA514 FEL, Box Blade, Howard Rotovator, All Purpose Plow, Sub Soiler
Jul 6, 2010
Jackson, Georgia
I'm no expert but I also have a 40 series with no such issues. Makes me wonder what is "normal". Let us know what you find out.

78Vette

Equipment
F2690