Steering brakes and snow plowing

bluestang

Equipment
B2650
Jan 11, 2021
BC Canada
I'm pretty new to this tractor thing so I'm hoping this isn't a stupid question. I have a B2650 with FEL and a 7 foot blade on the rear. I also have chains on the rear tires but not on the front. When I have the blade angled it wants to pull the front end of the tractor over to the windrow side. Is it ok to use the steering brakes to overcome this?

RalphVa

Jan 19, 2020
Charlottesville
That's what they're for. One of the reasons why I'm going orange, because JD quit putting steering brakes on its lower hp tractors.

Reactions: 2 users

SDT

Equipment
multiple and various
Apr 15, 2018
SE, IN
I'm pretty new to this tractor thing so I'm hoping this isn't a stupid question. I have a B2650 with FEL and a 7 foot blade on the rear. I also have chains on the rear tires but not on the front. When I have the blade angled it wants to pull the front end of the tractor over to the windrow side. Is it ok to use the steering brakes to overcome this?
Yes.

Front chains will help also.

FWIW: A 7' blade is quite large for a 2650.

SDT

Henro

Equipment
B2910, BX2200, KX41-2V mini Ex.
May 24, 2019
North of Pittsburgh PA
I thought front chains were a nono?
Nothing is really a NO NO, just means you take your chances until something bad happens...the way I look at it anyway.

If you find any reason why chains on the front are an advantage to the long term reliability of your tractor, they certainly would not be a NO NO.

Myself, I will avoid using chains on the front. Just my common sense kicking in...right or wrong...

Edit: UNLESS I had a need that out weighed the risk of tractor damage. Then it would be time by time decision...

nbryan

Equipment
B2650 BH77 LA534 54" ssqa Forks B2782B BB1560 Woods M5-4 MaxxHaul 50039
Jan 3, 2019
Hadashville, Manitoba, Canada