3 point hitch 101

PaulR

Equipment
BX 23S -- 100 hours seat time so far
Aug 3, 2020
Hadley, MA
....and I mean barely 101, this might be elementary school. :(
alternative title: I'm an accountant, not a farmer, more money than brains......

Question: Hooked up and used my 3 point hitch for the first time last night, why did it take me 30 minutes to attach my chipper and why is it crooked????
Hitch 1.JPG
hitch2.JPG

Jchonline

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota L6060, KX040-4, M7060, RTV X1100C, M62 (sold)
Oct 28, 2018
Red Feather Lakes, CO
You need to loosen the left lower link and tighten the right one (these are called turnbuckle stabilizers) to align the implement. You will probably need to lift the chipper off the ground first. If they are too tight with the weight, remove the implement, get the lower arms centered, then re-attach.

How to Adjust Tractor Three Point Stabilizers - YouTube

• Love
Reactions: 1 users

PaulR

Equipment
Aug 3, 2020
Hadley, MA
Thank you kind sir. That video was perfect. (y) :geek:

bmblank

Equipment
2020 L3901HST, LA525 Loader, 66" Q/A Bucket, PFL2042 Forks, Meteor SB68PT Blower
Mar 4, 2015
Cadillac, MI
And it took you half an hour because that's how long it takes when you don't have some sort of easy or quick hitch. Obviously, with practice you'll get better, but... Yeah, it's a huge pain in the ass. I just struggled with the damn brush hog last night and tried breaking my kneecap in the process.

Save yourself some grief. I just ordered a Pat's easy change. My brother loves his harbor freight quick hitch. Whichever you choose, it'll save you buckets of time and frustration.

• Love

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
3PH is a PITA 'system',kinda ok IF you have a large concrete pad to store all your implements on, with custom blocks to get 'alignment' reasonably good.