ADA attorney

BigG

Equipment
l2501, FEL, BB, Rotary cutter, rake,spreader, roller, etc. New Holland TL80 A
Sep 14, 2018
West Central,FL
I am a hot shot truck driver who happens to be stuck in a wheelchair. Yesterday I was dispatched on a load by a broker. When I arrived at the yard to get loaded, a trench box, I was turned away because, " The load might fall on you." Mind you this is a 4' x 4' x 24' 6000 pounds of steel box setting in the center of my trailer. It would have been loaded by a fork lift. I would have been nowhere near the box until it was set on the trailer.

I have moved over 90 loads since August 2020 by myself. I used a helper for 2 years but they are not worth the money. Nobody has ever said a word to me about the wheelchair prior to yesterday. In fact most places are very helpful or at least neutral about the chair.

Since I am not an employee am I protected under the ADA laws? I was told that I would never be allowed in their yard because of the chair. How do I find a good law firm and not an ambulance chaser?

bearbait

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, 64" snowblower, 72" back blade
Dec 9, 2011
New Glasgow Canada
I feel for ya BigG, you have to wonder how people could make a decision like that, ain't no fixin' stupid. I wish I could tell you where to turn for help but I really have no idea. I hope you find the right help and go kick some ass. Good luck my friend.

Magicman

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4900 Utility Special 4WD e/w FEL & 1530 John Deere "Traveling Man"
Oct 8, 2019
Brookhaven, MS
knotholesawmill.com
I can't help with the legal issue, but I wholeheartedly support your effort. There are still "good folks" in this world and you Sir are one of them.

Reactions: 1 users

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas