B7100 HST 4X4 Front wheel locking - Need Help

Amishkingpin

Equipment
B7100 HST with FEL,Tiller,Rotary Mower and Box grader
Feb 19, 2009
Columbus, Ohio,USA
Fellow OTT'ers,

My B7100 HST 4X4 HST has developed a serious issue today. I put the transmission in 4X4 mode and heard a crunch sound. Then, the front wheel locked up when I tried to move forward. I took it out of 4X4 mode and it will go forward a little before the front wheel locks up. I was in the yard but was able to baby it back to the shed by stopping and going backward for a little bit. The locking was intermittent every 30 feet. Before I call my dealer, I would like to see if this is something I can tackle and repair easily in my garage. I am not a mechanic but able to handle a wrench. Has anyone experienced this issue or perhaps knows what the problem may be. I really don't know where to look first or what steps I should take to identify the issue.

Thanks and appreciate any advice.
AK:confused:

rparkinson

Aug 23, 2012
Northport Maine
May be a good idea to drain the front diff and see if there are any metal shavings on the suspect wheel- get a service manual and tear it down.... sounds like something let go in the differential-

rparkinson

Aug 23, 2012
Northport Maine
Good luck on that- I have a B7200 and they are a couple hundred bucks.... here is a link to one on ebay now for 13 bucks on cd...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/KUBOTA-TRAC...50742?pt=BI_Books_Manuals&hash=item4d06527bd6

But other then that the paper ones go used from 100 bucks on up.... But, if you are planning on keeping the machine you may want to pull the trigger on one... I like to be able to flip real pages myself. Good luck- post what happens with it... I am curious... Ron in Maine

Amishkingpin

Equipment
Feb 19, 2009
Columbus, Ohio,USA