Go Back   OrangeTractorTalks - Everything Kubota > Kubota Talk > Service, Repair & Maintenance

Service, Repair & Maintenance Offer your Kubota service advice, repair procedures or maintenance tips. Have a service related question? Post here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2010, 07:48 PM   #1
kubota l 295 dt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: prunedale, ca.
Equipment: kubota l295 dt loader, scraper
Posts: 6
Smile kubota l 295 dt

Hi, just purchased kubota L 295 DT anyone familiar with these are they a good tractor? has a loader and box scraper. it does not have power steering, are their power steering kits available or is it not necessary. love to here opinions and any help or vises about tractor. It will be used around small farm. Thanks Jeff!
kubota l 295 dt is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links  
Advertisement
Old 12-09-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
fj40dave
2nd Yr. Apprentice
 
fj40dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Allyn, WA
Equipment: L295DT
Posts: 184
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

Welcome aboard

I just rebuilt the motor on a L295DT.....there is a thread (search: L295DT in this forum) for some info and pictures.

It has power steering, so there is that option for you. I could get the information about the set-up, but it looked pretty easy to install.

Go through it completly......change the fluids and filters and make sure everything is ready for use.
I would lube the throw-out bearing. I found the TO bearing had never been serviced on the rebuild I did....and was not in the best shape. There is a access plate on the clutch housing on the right side (as you're sitting on the tractor)


Post a picture of it.....let's see the new addition to the farm!

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Copy of HPIM4022.JPG
Views:	313
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	2723   Click image for larger version

Name:	Copy of HPIM4023.JPG
Views:	294
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	2724  

Last edited by fj40dave; 12-09-2010 at 08:05 AM.
fj40dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 07:55 PM   #3
kubota l 295 dt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: prunedale, ca.
Equipment: kubota l295 dt loader, scraper
Posts: 6
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

Dave, thanks for getting back to me and also the great info, the sheet metals a little ruff and some small fluid leaks in both loader rams, so far so good she seems to run fine and everything seems to operate fine. iwill take a look at your post and will post some pics as soon as i can figure out how. all for now . Many thanks Jeff!
kubota l 295 dt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 02:40 AM   #4
ipz2222
Journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: chickamauga ga usa
Equipment: L235, bx2670
Posts: 1,311
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

Power steering is not necessary and just something else to Have problems with. Your steering box has a 1/8 pipe plug in it, remove it and fill with gear oil. Will make it a little easier to steer and last a lot longer.
Don't forget to change the gear oil in the 2 front hub assemblies.
Add a temp guage, seems to be a lot of problems overheating and cracking the heads, not an expence you want to have.
ipz2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 04:34 PM   #5
danielscores
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corbin City, NJ
Equipment: 1980 Kubota L295DT
Posts: 1
Talking Re: kubota l 295 dt

Just purchased an L295DT for $6,000. Everything is running well. Took it for a spin today. Only problem was it would not turn off. I looked at some posts and narrowed it down to relay, wire or fuse. I am going to look at the fuses soon. I am happy so far the seller was very upfront about the work he did and pointed out future potential problems. I do a lot of skidding for my sawmill and was excited about getting all the features (backhoe, PTO) and still have 30HP. I had a Massey Ferguson with 35HP but the clutch went and too expensive to fix.
danielscores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:26 AM   #6
fj40dave
2nd Yr. Apprentice
 
fj40dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Allyn, WA
Equipment: L295DT
Posts: 184
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

It's good to see some of these 295's showing up.....how about a picture of 'em!

Here's the one I just did the rebuild on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00036-20101104-1115.jpg
Views:	669
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	2795   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00016-20101029-1531.jpg
Views:	537
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	2796  
fj40dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:45 AM   #7
kubota l 295 dt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: prunedale, ca.
Equipment: kubota l295 dt loader, scraper
Posts: 6
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

Welcome aboard! our tractors have a lever on the right hand just under the fuel cell it connects to the throttle, when you pull up it will kill your engine, glad to see more l 295 dt showing up. We better get some pictures up here soon though.
kubota l 295 dt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 08:03 PM   #8
MDsteve
1st Yr. Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Forest Hill, MD
Equipment: B7100, L225, L295DT
Posts: 38
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

Quote:
Originally Posted by fj40dave View Post
It's good to see some of these 295's showing up.....how about a picture of 'em!

Here's the one I just did the rebuild on.
I see your L295DT has turf tires. Just bought one I'm planning to restore that has ag tires, but I'd like to switch to turf with chains. What is the turf tire size configuration?

Thx.
MDsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:02 PM   #9
fj40dave
2nd Yr. Apprentice
 
fj40dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Allyn, WA
Equipment: L295DT
Posts: 184
Default Re: kubota l 295 dt

I don't actually own the L295DT....just did the motor rebuild on it - so, getting the tire size will take a E-Mail to the owner for the answer....but I'll get that to ya.

The owner uses his tractor for both commercial (construction) and personal use, so I'm suprised he's left the turf tires on it actually.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MDsteve View Post
I see your L295DT has turf tires. Just bought one I'm planning to restore that has ag tires, but I'd like to switch to turf with chains. What is the turf tire size configuration?

Thx.
fj40dave is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.