Go Back   OrangeTractorTalks - Everything Kubota > Kubota Talk > Service, Repair & Maintenance

Service, Repair & Maintenance Offer your Kubota service advice, repair procedures or maintenance tips. Have a service related question? Post here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 09:32 AM   #1
bigdg
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maynardville, TN
Equipment: B7200Hst w/ RC 60 mower deck
Posts: 5
Default Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Does anyone have experience with installing a temp guage on a B7200 HST or similar ? My dealer says he can do it and I don't like running any diesel without one. Thanks in advance for your input.
bigdg is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links  
Advertisement
Old 11-12-2010, 05:27 PM   #2
bruceatlam
3rd Yr. Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Camarillo, California
Equipment: B20, FEL, box blade, flail mower
Posts: 410
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Installed one in the upper radiator hose in my B20. Cut the hose and installed a purchased fitting in the hose with standard hose clamps and then mounted the sensor in the fitting -- works like a champ.
bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
kuboman
4th Yr. Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 611
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdg View Post
Does anyone have experience with installing a temp guage on a B7200 HST or similar ? My dealer says he can do it and I don't like running any diesel without one. Thanks in advance for your input.
There are temp gauges available that have a sensor that can be bolted to any part of the head or thermostat housing. They pick up the temp off the head so you don't have to get into the water jacket. Seems like a good alternative if finding a suitable port to screw in a sensor is a problem.
kuboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:38 PM   #4
DsBota
3rd Yr. Apprentice
 
DsBota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Equipment: B8200, G1800
Posts: 283
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

The B7200 engine is very similar to the B20 just a little smaller. Upper rad hose would work great.
__________________
Dion
DsBota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:27 PM   #5
bigdg
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maynardville, TN
Equipment: B7200Hst w/ RC 60 mower deck
Posts: 5
Smile Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Thanks for the help guys. I'll work with the dealer and see how he wants to do it. Where did you mount the guage itself? DG
bigdg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:56 PM   #6
DsBota
3rd Yr. Apprentice
 
DsBota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Equipment: B8200, G1800
Posts: 283
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

I've seen this done before on a B8200.
Click image for larger version

Name:	266675-guageinstall[1].jpg
Views:	322
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	2428
__________________
Dion
DsBota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 07:32 AM   #7
bruceatlam
3rd Yr. Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Camarillo, California
Equipment: B20, FEL, box blade, flail mower
Posts: 410
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Quote:
Originally Posted by DsBota View Post
I've seen this done before on a B8200.
Attachment 2428
Looks just like the gauge panel that I used. I mounted mine to a loader support bar that runs across that cowling about steering wheel high --- to the left of the steering wheel. Worked for me cause my loader is a permanent fixture.
bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 05:37 PM   #8
aquaforce
4th Yr. Apprentice
 
aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stockbridge, Ga. USA
Equipment: L245 4x4 FEL, 5' finish mower, 5' scrape blade, 5x10 trailer, Dump truck
Posts: 719
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

I tapped a pipe taper hole in the cylinder head cover on my L175 and installed an electric guage system. It is so great. I really love it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1134.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	2438   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1136.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	2439   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2088.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	2440  
__________________
Smart: Knowing exactly what to do right in a bad situation.
Wise: Knowing how to avoid a bad situation.

AKA: Captain Candle Wax
aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 08:16 PM   #9
Service Dept Vic
Moderator
 
Service Dept Vic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Alberta Canada
Equipment: B-5000
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Aquaforce, very nice job!
__________________
Tires, Parts, Tiller Tines and Manuals for North American and Grey Market Kubota/Zennoh Tractors

Oh Ya! We've got that!
Service Dept Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 06:45 AM   #10
dunk
1st Yr. Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Equipment: ZB6001
Posts: 16
Default Re: Installing a temperature gauge on B7200

Hi All

I like what aquaforce has done.

Would this work on my B6100, and if it would what is the ideal temp to run with?

Many thanks

Duncan
dunk is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.