Add hyd top link to L185

bharleyh

Equipment
L 185
Nov 8, 2012
Mission Viejo CA
I have a L185 that I made a dump bucket for the 3 point lift. Basically it's a 4 ft wide box with a latch that gravity dumps the dirt. I've gotten tired of reaching around to release the latch and want to install a hydraulic top link to dump the bucket. I can machine a manifold block to replace the cover by the 3 point lift but after that I'm lost. How can I route the hoses to the valve then to the top link? What kind of valve do I need? I'm thinking I need a 2 spool valve with power beyond to be able to lift the 3 point and dump the bucket at the same time. I have no experience at all with hydraulics so any pictures, drawings, or diagrams would be most helpful. Thank you for any help you can give me.

Attachments

coachgeo

Equipment
L225 w/woods Few Mowers & Back Blade, D722 in Motorcycle (Triumph Tiger), LMTV
Nov 16, 2012
Southern OH
I have a L185 that I made a dump bucket for the 3 point lift. Basically it's a 4 ft wide box with a latch that gravity dumps the dirt. I've gotten tired of reaching around to release the latch and want to install a hydraulic top link to dump the bucket. I can machine a manifold block to replace the cover by the 3 point lift but after that I'm lost. How can I route the hoses to the valve then to the top link? What kind of valve do I need? I'm thinking I need a 2 spool valve with power beyond to be able to lift the 3 point and dump the bucket at the same time. I have no experience at all with hydraulics so any pictures, drawings, or diagrams would be most helpful. Thank you for any help you can give me.
Don't know which would be cheaper/less complicated but you could instead of hydraulic use a ATV winch for tilting bucket with solid link.

Do you use a cable to release your latch? Would think you could mount the pull up closer to you so you don't have to turn and reach out as much' if at all. Wonder if a bendex from a starter could kick your latch out?