Box blading with roots.

TRA

Equipment
B2601, LA434, BH70, LP BB1260
Dec 17, 2017
Rock Hill
In my never ending homestead path work, im running into a lot of issues box blading. I know I have a small machine and limited power, but I seem to get hung up on roots very easily, making the tractor full stop. Even little finger sized ones hang me up.

I’m a novice, so any advice is welcome.

Some things I try,

Setting the angle to the box so the ripper thanks only penetrate an inch or so.
Raise the height to where im only skimming a little.
Only using two rippers.

Tractor is in 4wd, low range, reved to redline, and I don’t stomp the HST.

Is there a ripper shank that’s a blade available for my LP BB?

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Your probably going to need to run it with 1 or 2 teeth set deep to break up the roots.
Then go back over it with all the teeth set shallower.

And put your foot into the HST pedal, your not going to hurt it working it! ;)

TRA

Equipment
Dec 17, 2017
Rock Hill
Your probably going to need to run it with 1 or 2 teeth set deep to break up the roots.
Then go back over it with all the teeth set shallower.

And put your foot into the HST pedal, your not going to hurt it working it! ;)
Oh, I thought the harder you stomped the HST, the higher it would try to gear? My bad.. Could be part of my problem.

I wish I could get more power out of the B2601 somehow. It's the absolute perfect size for the area I work, fitting through trees and the like. The gearhead in me wants an MX5800.

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2360, FEL, MMM, BX2750D snowblower. 1953 Minneapolis Moline ZAU
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY
Oh, I thought the harder you stomped the HST, the higher it would try to gear? My bad.. Could be part of my problem.
I think Wolfman means don't hesitate to make it pull.