Common maintenance items on D850 and B7100s?

iangoround

Equipment
B7100HST w/ L1630
May 13, 2019
Rochester, NY
Hi All,

I'm new to orange tractors, and diesels in general. Most of my wrenching experience is on race cars and old red iron.

I've just picked up a late model B7100, and the D750 in it has a nasty rod knock. Since it's racecar season I figured I'd never get any machine shop to squeeze me in until the fall, so I sourced a used D850 and it's being delivered to me here on Monday.

I've ordered a full gasket kit for it, but my question is this: Besides replacing any obviously bad gaskets, replacing fluids, greasing fittings, etc, are there any other common problem areas or things I should check while I'm putting this thing back together?

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Hi All,

I'm new to orange tractors, and diesels in general. Most of my wrenching experience is on race cars and old red iron.

I've just picked up a late model B7100, and the D750 in it has a nasty rod knock. Since it's racecar season I figured I'd never get any machine shop to squeeze me in until the fall, so I sourced a used D850 and it's being delivered to me here on Monday.

I've ordered a full gasket kit for it, but my question is this: Besides replacing any obviously bad gaskets, replacing fluids, greasing fittings, etc, are there any other common problem areas or things I should check while I'm putting this thing back together?
Depending on which D850 you have gotten, Thermosiphon or water pump, it will take different things.

Thermosiphon:
You'll probably just have to swap the oil pan and pickup tube, intake, exhaust, and fan assembly.

Waterpump:
Oil pan and pickup tube, intake, exhaust, add fan, add (if not already equipped) alternator or dynamo, you need to rework the inlet and outlet of the radiator as the angle and the size are different.