MMM question

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
I have no experience with Kubota's mmm.

Are the decks, 60", 72" with gauge wheels and large rear roller designed to run on the wheels and roller when cutting?

Considering converting one to 3 pt hitch operation. Will need changes to deal with mid pto rpm vs rear pto rpm

Thanks

Dave

PA452

Equipment
B2650
Nov 8, 2015
Western PA
The design as you described would be a ground contact deck designed to run on the ground, yes.

Curious about why you're getting into a project like this though. Why not just sell the deck and by a rear finish mower if you want it rolling behind you?

Tire Biter

Equipment
B 2601 434 loader MMM, bunch of tractor stuff . Ford 4600
Jul 10, 2012
S.E. TN
No. The gauge wheels that come with them are basically antiscalp wheels, and wouldn’t last too long using them like running gear. Plus they’re kind of on the small side. I think the RPM that the decks operate at is around a thousand or so. You’ll need a speed increser. A 3 pt finish mower is a better choice.

SDT

Equipment
multiple and various
Apr 15, 2018
SE, IN
No. The gauge wheels that come with them are basically antiscalp wheels, and wouldn***8217;t last too long using them like running gear. Plus they***8217;re kind of on the small side. I think the RPM that the decks operate at is around a thousand or so. You***8217;ll need a speed increser. A 3 pt finish mower is a better choice.
Depends upon the model.

The Kubota MMM decks for B series tractors are legitimate terrain following decks, wherein the cutting height is controlled by the gage wheels. GREAT decks.

The BX decks are suspended, wherein the rollers are simply anti-scalp devices.

SDT

rkidd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B2650, FEL With QA 60"mmm, 3pt FDR1672,homemade ballast box, BB 1572 box scraper
Dec 7, 2015
Jefferson Ohio
Yes. what SDT said!!

PA452

Equipment
B2650
Nov 8, 2015
Western PA
Depends upon the model.