Shorten, make foldable ROPS on L 5040

Treckerzeug

Equipment
Carraro tgf 7800 taijfun 4,5 t winch, trailer with crane, double bl saw
Apr 17, 2015
Bavaria South Germany
Hello,

Didn't anyone of you shorten the ROPS on one of your grand L tractors?

I'd want it 4-5 inches lower to be able to leave it always upright.

The lower part under the traverse seems to be separated, any tips, hints?

I'm a reasanable welder and could cut and weld preferably the lower part.

Thanks for your tips/ideas.

Regards

Robert

ShaunRH

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
May 14, 2014
Atascadero, CA
ROPS mods are usually treated as a 'no-no' since all the design and engineering is basically voided once you hit the thing with something that cuts and something that welds. All manufacturer responsibility for injury is also voided.

So, if you are okay with that, you can probably get away with the mods, however, it's probably a mistake to lower the height from the top. If you can control your heat input to the metal enough, you can resize it from where it bolts onto the frame. Heat control is a more intermediate-advanced welding concept and needs to be done to keep the integrity of the steel alloy's used in place, otherwise you need to increase the durability of the lower frame at the same time to make up for the loss of metal integrity.

This is why nobody welds onto a ROPS, they bolt on.

So, that's about all I have available to me on the subject. Go forth at your own risk (assuming you will be the only one operating the unit!) :D

Treckerzeug

Equipment
Apr 17, 2015
Bavaria South Germany
ROPS mods are usually treated as a 'no-no' since all the design and engineering is basically voided once you hit the thing with something that cuts and something that welds. All manufacturer responsibility for injury is also voided.