Kubota D905e Lighting plant / Generator worth fixing ?

Jon G

Equipment
Still Searching
Mar 18, 2019
St John's
Hi guys first post, it looks like you have a good community going here :)

I am from NEWFOUNDLAND Canada :)

I am NOT a mechanic nor do i pretend to be one, but i am pretty good at tinkering with stuff, mostly dirt bikes, recreational equipment and trucks (Tacomas)

I do have some diesel experience but mostly general never a rebuild

so let get to it

Work has a lighting plant that they turned into a generator that ran for about 100H then packed it in and they wrote it off as they think its not worth fixing.

I am now the new proud owner of a non working lighting plant my first diesel. Cost $0

Just looking for help figuring out if this is worth a rebuild, if i am in the wrong place please let me know :)

Last edited:

Jon G

Equipment
Still Searching
Mar 18, 2019
St John's
More info
Cold temp the morning of failure
Machine started up ran for a hour
Started blowing smoke, so they turned it off.
They said it blew all the oil out of the machine and it was red hot (pealed paint in picture) and some wire loom melted.
They let it cool down and it started again but was not right, i am sure they used quick start.

It was then shipped back to the yard for further inspection
Machine did not sound right turning over like it was low on compression
There was a vent hose off the top pan PCV valve ? that might of allowed oil out onto exhaust ?
There is a burnt smell to the motor
removed the head an there is some scuffing on one of the cylinders the other look fine

Jon G

Equipment
Still Searching
Mar 18, 2019
St John's
So i can have it for free but work wants the trailer back :(

This would be a cool learning project with hopes to rebuild it to use as a back up generator for the house or cabin. Might even put it back on a trailer again so i can move it around.

If i get into this and its not worth fixing then there are some parts of this i want for other projects.