Forgot Oil Drain washer

B7500 all year long

Dec 9, 2016
Harvard
Newbie here...I just changed my oil on my B7500 and dropped the drain screw in the oil pan. I could not remember if there was a washer on it or not from previous changes...checked the manual, and it did not mention or show one. Put the drain bolt in and drained the old oil out of the oil pan, and saw the copper washer...Duh! :eek: Why didn't I check thoroughly for the washer before adding new oil:mad:? Called my dealer and he said it could leak when it got hot. I am in Northern IL and use the loader to plow my gravel driveway. It is below freezing, so I am inclined to remove the drain bolt and re-insert with washer and hopefully minimal oil loss and mess, but I thought I would ask if anyone has had an issue with them leaking without the washer. Not a drop has leaked, but I have not run it and got it hot yet. Better safe, than sorry, right? I'm very happy I found this site! Thank you!

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Yes pull the plug and washer it and reuse the oil! ;)

And FYI you really should use a new washer every oil change!

torch

Equipment
B7100HSD, B2789, B2550, B4672, 48" cultivator, homemade FEL and Cab
Jun 10, 2016
Muskoka, Ont.
Get an assistant, clean pan under the bolt. Pull the bolt and get your thumb on the hole while the assistant gets the washer on the bolt. With a bit of luck you can get the bolt to thread back in without losing much oil.

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Use your shop vac on the fill hole. Have someone hold it in place with a rag around it. You remove the plug and get the washer on it. You will lose very little oil!

torch

Equipment
B7100HSD, B2789, B2550, B4672, 48" cultivator, homemade FEL and Cab
Jun 10, 2016
Muskoka, Ont.