overriding clutch

Kytim

Equipment
B6000DT, B7100DT,Snowplow, RM360, Scoop, Cultivator, Carryall,Disk, plow
Aug 14, 2009
Western Ky
Morning,
when did internal overriding clutches become standard on early "B" model tractors? being as I'm new to the orange, i may need to know this tidbit of information. I would hate to damage a crank or tranny by being being careless. If a clutch is needed, any special knowledge needed when shortening the drive shaft? you know minimum contact length in inches for less than 20HP. Yes I do own a GM B7001 with only 1 groove on the output shaft, what does that tell me? don't newer models have 2 grooves?

Thx for all the info, all my years experience with 40's "red" tractors doesn't apply with these wonderful little machines.

tim

RDR

Equipment
M5400,B6100E,K008,L175,TG1860Diesel,JD355D,3)Leyland 154D's,YM2000,IH1466
Oct 13, 2009
Danevang, Tx.
With the engine off engage the pto. If it turns one way and you hear a sound like a ratchet and locks the other way I would say you have the internal override. I've mowed with an old tractor for 16 years without one. It isn't that hard to pay attention where I am going and not have to stop on a dime. I like the pto to stop when I stop the tractor.

eserv

Equipment
BX24, A1000 Kubota Generator
May 27, 2009
Hardisty, Alberta
Hi RDR
There is no substitute for a little common sense is there? That being said though, for some people we cannot make the machines safe enough! an overrunning clutch is a good thing to have but if you don't have one and understand the mechanics, you will get along fine. If you have an external one it is liable to give more trouble than the tractor will without one.
Ed

Lucky

Equipment
B7100dt and b6001
Feb 17, 2009
Northwoods, WI