new tractor stalling

silverfinch

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B2601
Oct 16, 2018
Cornish, NH
I just got my B2601 delivered 2 days ago. It has less than 2 hours on it. It seems to run fine, but then it will lose power/rpms for no apparent reason every few minutes. Usually it stalls and the engine stops, but it will sometimes recover and avoid stalling. It always starts right back up again.

I'm new to tractors, so maybe I'm doing something stupid. I plan to call the dealer, but he's closed today. I figured I'd check in with people here for theories. One theory we have is the seat kill switch could be faulty. Otherwise, I see some old post about stalling that point to fuel issues. Given how new it is, that seems unlikely to me (also that it starts back up easily).

I have a FEL and RCR1548 Land Pride brush hog mower on it, though it will stall when neither is in use.

sheepfarmer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, B2650, Gator, Ingersoll mower
Nov 14, 2014
MidMichigan
Best bet is seat switch. See if you can make it happen by fidgeting or leaning forward slightly while moving forward. For some of the newer B tractors, eg my B2650, the seat sensor is in a pad that velcros to the seat in the middle. My dealer changed mine, but I still have trouble occasionally depending on which coat I have on. First winter I sat on a piece of styrofoam to apply pressure to the sensor.

Enjoy your new tractor!

SidecarFlip

Banned

Equipment
M9000HDCC3, M9000HD, Kubota GS850 Sidekick
Oct 28, 2018
USA
Either the OP switch or it's sucking air. I'd check the fuel filter for tightness and the secondary bowl/filter for tightness as well. If that fails, call the dealer, it's new I presume.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA