grease/oil are your friend, now what??

steveInMaryland

Equipment
L35, b2710
Nov 23, 2015
marriotsville, MD, USA
I have a BT900 backhoe with a 24'' bucket and I want to replace it with a 12'' bucket. I got a really good deal on a new original stock 12'' but .....

I have been trying to get the pins out for months now. I have tried the 1/2 acetone / 1/2 ATF trick, tried beating them out (with some mushrooming), tried to actually cut them out with a sawzall; fourteen destroyed blades and maybe a nick on the pin, they must be hardened.

Anyway, I am here to ask the experts, how the heck do you get them out? It's obvious the previous owner did not grease or put oil on anything and it was just a tool to be depreciated and written off. Not me, I want to fix and use this machine for 30 more years.

For the record I work in IT now and raise goats, I don't have a lot of the tools a working farm should have but I am learning and gathering.

May the Orange experts look down on me tonight and enlighten me.

Semper Fi everyone,
Steve

steveInMaryland

Equipment
L35, b2710
Nov 23, 2015
marriotsville, MD, USA
I looked at that very piece but no, the pins are 1 1/4 x 8 1/4. I thought about making a "super" sized one of those out of a rail road rail and some 1/2 metal (no reasonable person could ever pick it up) and decided a better approach would be use my 22 ton log splitter.

As time has gone on, and a broken wrist (from cleaning the gutters), I have decided its not a good idea. I mean potentially, a 44,000 pound accelerated projectile of a one inch rod is pretty dangerous. Trust me, I have fired many a 50 cal.

I asked the question fully expecting people to say use heat, heat and more heat. Unfortunately I have no heat except a plumbers propane torch.

I also think buying one won't work because the problem probably needs two, one for each rusted side of the pin. In the end, I will probably post an add for a well equipped welder and helper to knock this out (no pun intended).