L3710 hst grinding sound no forward or reverse

Lightning Truck

Jan 11, 2017
Tallahassee FL USA
Hi, My name is Mike and I live in tallahassee florida. I have a lot of mechanical knowledge but I don't know where to start on this tractor.

It is an L3710 Not sure of the year. I need to find a WSM. Kubota dealer told me they think the countershaft is broken. (from my description)
Tractor starts and runs. Will not move in either direction. Oil(hyd) in sight glass looks clear and correct level, but there is a greasy looking butter like residue on glass too. Water?
I was driving in high on my dirt road with no load and it made a whirring/grinding sound and came to a stop, Then no F or R. Loader and box blade work. When you push in clutch it makes a loud grinding/hyd pump whine noise and offers resistance back through the pedal. Like the pedal throws itself back at your foot.:eek:
I just would like some advice on where to start. And ideas of possible problem. I'm wondering if i should drain hyd fluid and cut open filters to look for signs of water or metal. I searched a lot on the site but cant come up with good info on this exact model and WSM for this model.
Thanks, Mike

kckndrgn

Equipment
BX2370 w/ 60" MMM and FEL, Box Blade, Bush Hog, Carry All & Tiller
Mar 17, 2016
Somerville, TN
Welcome,
Afraid I can't help much, but look at the sticky on this forum for links to the WSM's

Good luck with your repair.

Lightning Truck

Jan 11, 2017
Tallahassee FL USA
I read the sticky before i posted and can't figure out if i have a gst or an hst.
I downloaded the pdf with all the diagrams but can't conclude much from it.
I can't find a data plate anywhere on tractor either.
Thanks, Mike

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Ok first you need tell if it an HST or a GST!

HST: Push pedal and go!