Kubota L48 TLB - cheaper alternatives to factory 3-point hitch

jgoodma1

Equipment
L48
Aug 5, 2017
Raleigh, NC, USA
I have a 2004 Kubota L48 backhoe that I bought used. The backhoe is removable. The machine did not come with the 3-point hitch components. I'm a total rookie tractor mechanic. I want to start using some rear 3-point hitch implements and am trying to figure out a cheaper way to put together a 3-point hitch than having to buy the factory version, which now costs around $1400 for the full setup. I have not been able to find any after-market versions for my machine anywhere. I guess there just are not enough L48's out there to make it worthwhile for someone to make a knock-off. And from what I have read online and in this forum, the L48 seems to have 3-point hitch components that are unique to it.

I have the diagram from Messick's for the full 3-point linkage/drawbar/hitch setup and it seems to me that the only really critical factory-supplied parts might be the lift arms. The rest of the components look like they could come from Agri-Supply or Tractor Supply, with maybe some simple modifications where the lifting rods connect to the lift arms. So maybe I have to spring for the expensive lift arms...... but can get away with generic lifting rods, top link, etc. Is that realistic or am I missing something important? Thanks for any advice.

G.rid

Equipment
L48 tlb, ssqa forks, manual thumb for hoe
Aug 19, 2016
Oxford, NS, Canada
You are correct about the parts being specific to the L48. I went to three different dealers to have them look up the parts then try to reverse look them up to see what other machine those would fit, none! Not even superseded to a new part number.