gray market rookie questions

graymktrookie

Equipment
L2000/L225
Aug 7, 2009
Canfield, Ohio, USA
I own an L2000 (L225 equivalent?) and I was wondering if I could use a multi weight oil in this machine rather than the SAE30 (for over 77 degrees) or the SAE 20 for 32-77 degrees)?
Also, I was told by the previous owner that adding a front loader to this tractor was not recommended, could that be true? He said he was told by another company selling gray market items that without power steering it makes it too hard to steer.

I'm new to this tractor stuff-hope these aren't ridiculous questions!

By the way -great site for info and Vic does an awesome job on the videos! Very easy to follow and great tips!

Graymktrookie

Theekillerbee

Jun 28, 2009
Pleasant View UT, USA
Not sure why PS would be a problem with the loader. My 8200 has a factory Kubota loader and doesn't have PS (that will change soon). It does get a little tough to turn, but not something you will throw your shoulder out with. My dad owns an L295DT with a loader and no PS as well. Perhaps there is some other reason that Vic might chime in on.

If I were you, I'd switch to a multigrade (15W-40) diesel rated synthetic oil. It will hold up to more abuse and provides better lubricity than the standard stuff does. IMHO.

Michael

Equipment
Zen Noh ZL1801 Sadly I sold it and a T1400 lawn tractor
Mar 11, 2009
Sedro Woolley, Washington USA
I have a L1801 which I have had for the last 7 years. Some of what I have learned is to use 15W40 the oil is flat better at protecting the engine and it doesn't fail as quickly as a straight weight oil. Just pick your favorite brand of oil and use it.

I also have a FEL on mine and just limit the size of the bucket to the tractor as mine also has no power steering, I think that the max sized bucket would be around a 49" and you should be able to use it with no problems.