Buying a used tractor with no maintenance records

TomTomTom

Dec 30, 2018
Clarkesville, GA
Hi Everyone,
I am brand new to tractors and I would like to buy a 30hp front end loader/possibly with a backhoe. I see many used tractors on Craigslist but when I ask about maintenance records. No owners can supply them. I even stopped at a dealer that had used tractors and they didn't have maintenance records on the used tractors they were selling. Is it worth buying a used tractor with no maintenance records or should I just save up for a new tractor?

Tughill Tom

Equipment
B3200
Dec 23, 2013
Turin, NY
Your going need to do your own due diligence on any used equipment. Look at of all condition, is it clean and not just steam cleaned, rusting, tires worn, everything work and so on.

That being said I bought my used B3200 sight un-seen, over the phone 300 miles away. A buddy stopped in a dealer and saw it coming in on trade told me and I called the dealer and bought it, he said "I've never done a deal like this before:, I said me either". It was the BEST money I ever spent. :)

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Hi Everyone,
I am brand new to tractors and I would like to buy a 30hp front end loader/possibly with a backhoe. I see many used tractors on Craigslist but when I ask about maintenance records. No owners can supply them. I even stopped at a dealer that had used tractors and they didn't have maintenance records on the used tractors they were selling. Is it worth buying a used tractor with no maintenance records or should I just save up for a new tractor?
Tomx3,

some things to look for if no maintenance records offered.

How many hours?

Look at color of filters - if same color as engine, means it has never been changed.

Look at tires close - lots of cracks???