1979 B7100DT Delivery Valve Torque & Low Oil Pressure

BackYardWrench

Equipment
B1700
Jul 17, 2015
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Total newbie here. Appreciate the resource and all that contribute. Used the search option and could not find answer.

This is a parts tractor I picked up with a history of "bad motor" and no other info.

Is there a torque spec for the delivery valve? They are leaky and the rear most cylinder does not fire. Is that cylinder 1 or 3? I ordered new O rings and "gaskets" but did not see a copper crush washer in the parts diagrams.

On a E300 diesel, I torqued to something like 35 pounds of torque and then another 5 or so, if I recall correctly and the thing was golden. Asking if the B7100 has a similar procedure.

The other problem with the tractor is low oil pressure (10-15 psi) so I can't run it much. Im trying to eliminate the non-firing cylinder as I "think" I hear a knock. Hoping this is a fuel knock caused by a missing crush washer, which is throwing off the timing/fuel delivery to that cylinder. Im not at the tractor, which is several hours away so I can't and didn't compare the delivery valve with the other two.

I've checked and swapped injectors and spray patterns. The non working cylinder is getting fuel. All of the cylinders have compression, not perfect but its there and it runs on the front two.

I know I need to pull the oil pan (bad rod bearing) and front cover (cam plug) to resolve oil pressure. Which should I do first? Oil pan or front cover?

Thanks

Last edited:

coachgeo

Equipment
L225 w/woods Few Mowers & Back Blade, D722 in Motorcycle (Triumph Tiger), LMTV
Nov 16, 2012
Southern OH
Last edited:

sitdwnandhngon

Equipment
B7100
Aug 25, 2015
NY, USA
Do the cam plug first.

I just did one two weeks ago and bumped it up from 5psi at full throttle to about 50.

It was an easy fix, just a bit time consuming, I managed to go start to finish in about 5 hours.

BackYardWrench

Equipment
B1700
Jul 17, 2015
Wisconsin Dells, WI