Did I Just Break My Tractor??

malenurse13

Equipment
Kubota L3301 with Front Loader and Rotary Cutter
Jun 7, 2019
Vivian, LA
I'm still new to tractors. TODAY... I hit a big mound of dirt with the brush hog that brought the blades to a screeching halt and the tractor shut down completely. I put everything in neutral, started the tractor back up, and raised the brush hog to get outta there. I saw a big dirt circle with a few tree limbs in it. I have a slipper clutch on the brush hog and I'm sure that helps. Everything seems to be working fine. But if I hit something so hard that stops the PTO completely and kills the engine... what am I doing to my tractor?? And is there anything I need to inspect after bogging down in dirt? Anything that might be broken/warped/loose??

Last edited:

mendonsy

Equipment
B7500HST/LA302
May 28, 2012
Mendon, NY
That is certainly something you should avoid, but you probably did not do any real harm. It just took more power than the engine could deliver.

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Sounds like your slip clutch needs adjusting or service. It is not an install and forget it item!

It should be lessening the shock load on your tractor to avoid stalling the engine.

Dave

SidecarFlip

Banned

Equipment
M9000HDCC3, M9000HD, Kubota GS850 Sidekick
Oct 28, 2018
USA
Sounds like your slip clutch needs adjusting or service. It is not an install and forget it item!

It should be lessening the shock load on your tractor to avoid stalling the engine.

Dave
Exactly and the need to be set every year. The clutch plates rust up making it inoperative.

russell.still.5

Aug 28, 2017
Lafayette, Alabama
You probably didn’t hurt anything but your slip clutch is not adjusted correctly. If you hit a big stump of rock, the weakest part is going to fail. That could be something inside the tractor transmission or the Bush Hog driveline or gear box

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hodge