what diesel additives do you use?

acsteve

Equipment
mx5100 loader, box blade
Feb 14, 2010
SeMo, Missouri
Local dealer, suggested using a diesel additive to any road diesel, in order to increase lubricisity. What brand or type is suggested. I bought some yesterday at Auto zone, which was the same brand TSC carries. thanks

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va
Whats the reason for putting additive's in highway diesel? I thought only around the winter time you had to put in a treatment to keep the diesel from jelling in cold weather, I had head that there's no real difference in highway and non-highway other then the dye they put in off road diesel so we know which is which and that you don't pay a tax on off road diesel. I've been a truck driver for a number of years and heard a few horror stories about D.O.T pulling over big rigs at random and dipping the fuel tanks to see if someone was putting off road diesel in a highway rig, thats a real nasty fine if you get caught, up wards of two thousand dollars or more.

traildust

Equipment
B7610HST 4WD, LA352 FEL, Gearmore 2 Spool Top & Tilt Box Scraper
Jan 27, 2010
Phelan, California
Whats the reason for putting additive's in highway diesel? I thought only around the winter time you had to put in a treatment to keep the diesel from jelling in cold weather, I had head that there's no real difference in highway and non-highway other then the dye they put in off road diesel so we know which is which and that you don't pay a tax on off road diesel. I've been a truck driver for a number of years and heard a few horror stories about D.O.T pulling over big rigs at random and dipping the fuel tanks to see if someone was putting off road diesel in a highway rig, thats a real nasty fine if you get caught, up wards of two thousand dollars or more.